NJPPA News & Announcements

On April 12, 2003, New Jersey Press Photographers Association held its annual members' dinner and POY awards ceremony at the Molly Pitcher Inn in Red Bank, overlooking the Navesink River. About 50 people were in attendance, including Pulitzer Prize-winning photographer Eddie Adams.

Honored as 2002 Photographer of the Year was Noah Addis, of the Star-Ledger, who was awarded a Nikon Coolpix 5700 digital camera. Nikon also donated Coolpix 5700s to NJ Understanding award winner Matt Rainey, of the Star-Ledger, and 2002 Clip Contest winner Peter Ackerman, of the Asbury Park Press. The Best of Show award went to Frank Conlon, of the Star-Ledger, for his portrait of Chief Moose during the hunt for the sniper in the metro Washington, D.C. area last summer. Conlon received a Canon EOS 10D digital camera.

Canon also donated a G3 Powershot camera and a 220 EX strobe that were given as doorprizes to dinner attendees, along with a Nikon Coolpix 5700. Pro-Set, of West Paterson, donated two gift certificates. Among the doorprizes donated by NJPPA and our members were two signed prints by John Munson, of the Star-Ledger, of the towers of light at the World Trade Center site; a signed print of the three firefighters raising the flag on 9/11 by Tom Franklin, of The Record; a signed illustration by Marc Ascher, of The Trenton Times; photo books; a fanny pack; and several Starbucks cards.

Newly elected officers were introduced: president Danielle Richards, of The Record; vice-president Mike McLaughlin, freelance; and secretary/treasurer Veronica Yankowski, of Greater Media. Outgoing NJPPA president Matt Rainey, of the Star-Ledger, was presented with a gold Life Member card.

copyright njppa 2004 all rights reserved
free web hosting | website hosting | Business Hosting Services | Free Website Submission | shopping cart | php hosting